Main menu


Super Rugby Pacific 2023 Draw Confirmed | Latest Rugby News

featured image

Super Rugby Pacific has confirmed a draw for the 2023 season.

The season begins with the defending champion Crusaders facing the Chiefs on February 24th. Then Stephen Larkham returns as coach for his ACT Brumbies, who will face old rivals Waratahs at the new Allianz Stadium.

Click here for details of the 2023 Super Rugby Pacific Draw

The opening round will see recent expansion sides Moana Pacifica and Fijian Drua face off in a quad header on Saturday, and will conclude with Western Force and Melbourne Rebels adding another chapter to their rivalry.

“Being able to play regularly in front of our home fans, cross the Tasman and travel across the Pacific is huge for the competition, especially for the fans. For the fans, a full schedule at home. You can support the team through

“With everyone seeing what Super Rugby Pacific has to offer in its first season, all 12 clubs have taken that excitement into the off-season and are gearing up to win the title in 2023.”

“After the success of Super Rugby Pacific, there is a sense that it is ready to take off, but COVID-19 has disrupted its first season,” said New Zealand Rugby General Manager, Pro Rugby and Performance ‘s Chris Lendrum added.

“While we saw great potential on the field in 2022, there were also some major challenges beyond that.Having a fully integrated, uninterrupted draw in 2023 is a great opportunity for players and fans alike. This is great news for

“I think it will be one of the most competitive seasons in Super Rugby.”

Super Rugby Pacific confirmed earlier this month that the Super Round will return to Melbourne’s AAMI Park for round two.

The Blues have to wait until Round 4 for a Grand Finals rematch against the Crusaders on March 18.

Meanwhile, Drua will play six home games in Fiji, while Moana Pacifica will play Apia at home for the first time in the club’s history.

The 2023 draw will see all 12 teams play a total of 14 games during the regular season, with 11 round-robin games and 3 additional rivalry games.

It also reflects a greater focus on more family-friendly game time, with 24 of the 91 games being played during the day.

Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific Overview

Australia Season opener: NSW Waratahs v ACT Brumbies @ Allianz Stadium, Sydney.

Format: 12 Teams: Moana Pacifica, Fiji Drua, Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders, Highlanders, NSW Waratahs, Queensland Reds, Western Force, ACT Brumbies, Melbourne Rebels

14 regular season games = 11 round-robin games + 3 side-by-side games

One bye round per team (all byes in rounds 7, 8 and 9)

Season Length: 18 weeks = 15 weeks regular season + 3 weeks 8-team playoff series

Total Matches: 91

Super Round: Round 2, Friday, Sunday from March 3rd to March 3rd @ AAMI Park Melbourne.

Rival Matches: Each team will face 3 teams twice (once at home and once away for each rivalry).

  • Blues: Hurricanes, Highlanders, Crusaders
  • Chiefs: Crusaders, Hurricanes, Highlanders
  • Crusaders: Bruce, Chiefs, Moana Pacifica
  • Highlanders: Blues, Force, Chiefs
  • Hurricanes: Blues, Chiefs, Moana Pacifica
  • Moana Pacifica: Hurricanes, Highlanders, Fiji Dorua
  • Fiji Drua: Moana Pacifica, Reds, Waratah
  • Western Force: Highlanders, Reds, Rebels
  • Queensland Reds: Fijian Drua, Force and ACT Brumbies
  • Melbourne Rebels: Western Force, NSW Waratahs, ACT Brumbies
  • NSW Waratahs: Fijian Drua, Melbourne Rebels, ACT Brumbies
  • ACT Brumbies: Queensland Reds, Melbourne Rebels, NSW Waratahs