Main menu


Teacher Education Expert Panel | Mirage News

featured image

Today I am announcing that Professor Mark Scott will conduct a review of teaching methods in universities.

There are not many jobs more important than being a teacher.

One of the key issues raised at the Teacher Workforce Shortage Roundtable that I convened last month was how to improve the initial education of teachers in order to increase graduation rates and ensure that graduating teachers are better prepared in the classroom. was that it was necessary to improve

This review implements Recommendation 15 of the Quality Early Teacher Education Report and goes further.

The Teacher Education Expert Panel includes:

  • Professor Emeritus Bill Loudon (University of Western Australia)
  • Rebecca West (Former Teacher of the Year)
  • Professor Michele Simmons (Chairman of the Australian Council of Education Deans)
  • Andrew Peach (former Principal of the Year)
  • Dr. Jenny Donovan (CEO, Australian Education and Research Organization).

The panel makes suggestions to me on how I can:

  • Strengthening the relationship between entry-level teacher education performance and funding
  • Strengthen early teacher education programs to provide effective classroom-ready graduates
  • Improving the quality of hands-on experience in education
  • Improve initial graduate teacher training for mid-career hires.

A report with recommendations will be available by June 30, 2023.

Full terms and conditions are available at Teacher Education Expert Panel |Ministry of Education

The biographies of the members of the Teacher Education Expert Panel are as follows:

Professor Mark Scott AO

Professor Mark Scott is Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sydney. He was previously NSW Secretary of Education and started his teaching career in Sydney. In 2011 Professor Scott was appointed Officer of the Order of Australia.

Professor Emeritus Bill Louden AM

Professor Bill Louden was the Senior Vice Chancellor and Dean of Education at the University of Western Australia. Professor Louden was also a member of the expert panel for the Review of Quality Early Teacher Education. He has served as chairman and board member of state and national statutory authorities responsible for curriculum, assessment, and professional standards, and was a panel member of the groundbreaking national survey on literacy education.

Ms Rebecca West

Ms Rebecca West is the Foundation Deputy Principal at New Yarrabilla Primary School in Queensland. She has shared resources on two of her YouTube channels, won the 2021 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Award, and was a Top 10 Finalist for the 2021 Global Teacher Prize.

Professor Michele Simmons

Professor Michele Simons is Dean of Education at Western Sydney University. Professor Simmons has extensive experience in learning support in the areas of adult education, vocational education, workplace learning, and secondary teacher education programs.

Mr Andrew Peach

Andrew Peach was Principal of Marsden State High School in Queensland for eight years. He worked closely with industry partners to ensure a quality outcome and experience for his students. Mr Peach was named Principal of the Year at the Australian Education Awards 2020 and Marsden State High School also won multiple awards for excellence. In 2019, Mr Peach received the Outstanding Leadership Award in Teaching and Learning at his TEACHX Awards from the Queensland College of Teachers.

Dr. Jenny Donovan

Dr. Jenny Donovan founded the Center for Education Statistics and Evaluation (CESE) and served as Executive Director for eight years. Dr. Donovan started his career as a high school teacher in the western suburbs of Sydney. She has held a number of educational roles in operational and policy areas, including for several years as Deputy Director of the Non-Profit Educational Assessment Institute at the University of New South Wales.

/Release. This material from the original organization/author may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style, and length. Views and opinions expressed are those of the author is. View the full text here.